September 20th, 2008: Irish brews, lightsabers, and Garrett popcorn.


Birthday celebrations continue…

Yesterday my coworkers and I went to Sine Irish Pub at Pentagon Row, which was a great time. It was a joint celebration with my boss, because his birthday is tomorrow. It was one of the best times I’ve had with my coworkers aside from our happy hours, which are far and few in between and need to be more frequent! We had conversations about many weird things, such as:

  • light sabers
  • future of web technology
  • how Honey Bunches of Oats should have just a Bunches of Oats cereal
  • how I am having a lucky charms breakfast date with Deepa, who has no idea why Americans put marshmallows in everything
  • last Halloween, a coworker carved 4 pumpkins with President Bush, Osama Bin Laden, Hitler, and someone else’s face. Straange.

Our conversations taught me something about our team. Even though we’re so different and we all have our quirks, this is the best part about my job; I work with such an eclectic bunch of people, which gives me a lot to laugh about in the office. 😛

Anyway, they made my day very special. I’m so lucky to work with a kick-ass bunch.

Speaking of Lucky…

Tonight I’m headed to Lucky Strike in D.C., which is a bar/bowling alley/pool hall. I’ve never been, but I heard about it when I was in Chicago. My friend Diana, “Cagefighter” as I call her, is taking me. She recently moved back to the area from Brooklyn. I’m so happy, especially because she is one of my closest friends. She’s a solid girl who has her head on straight. How she got the name “Cagefighter” stems from our trip to Biloxi, MS during Thanksgiving ’05. It was during the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina and we both won a lottery to spend a week gutting and rebuilding homes. She worked her tail off that week and somehow gave her the nickname Cagefighter. She coined me Mighty Mouse.

Last night Marcus and I had dinner at Outback where he presented me with a card and a tracking number for a package from Garrett Popcorn in Chicago!!! This is not your ordinary popcorn, either. They have this mix called, “The Mix: Caramel Crisp & CheeseCorn.” Normally I don’t like my food touching. Okay, so call me 3 years old, but it’s the truth! However, this is an exception. The mix of the sweet and salty makes it easy to inhale in one sitting. 😉

He also ordered it in the Chicago edition tin, woop. Man, I miss Chicago… ::sigh::

0 Responses to “September 20th, 2008: Irish brews, lightsabers, and Garrett popcorn.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 222,706 hits
Anthem Of Hope

