Friday, September 26th, 2008


Four months into the working world and being on my own.

It’s been four months since I graduated from college. Within three weeks after graduation, I managed to get a job, move to a new city, and find an apartment, all while [barely] keeping my sanity. I dedicate this post to the changes that I have come to discover with this new phase in my new life…

My very own place.

In college, I would have a very random schedule filled with classes, activities, and lunch dates. No two days were alike, which I liked. You could say that I’m afraid of boredom, so the college lifestyle was a very thrilling time for me. Being busy posed problems with my roommate, especially since it felt like we always just missed each other. Nowadays, I live a very routine lifestyle with a few spontaneous activities thrown in there and with no roommate. I decided not to have a roommate, which I love because I can come home to a place the way I left it. Because of my choice, I live alone… very alone. It’s not easy to meet people and build friendships. Because of that, I’ll admit, it was nice to be able to have someone to talk to or to watch TV with. I didn’t like it sometimes because I would find the dishwasher still hadn’t been emptied, rent checks uncashed, etc. Nonetheless, I’m very content.

Bills, bills, and more bills.

Fall is here and I find that it’s a welcome change, especially in terms of the weather. I no longer have to leave the AC on in my apartment, which is the one luxury I can’t live without, but it’s also the most expensive luxury I have. Thanks dad (he’s the same way). Last month, my electric bill was about $75.00, which makes me wonder if that’s high? Seems high, especially because I’m the one shelling out money for the bills. 😛 Having a roommate is very helpful when it comes to splitting bills.

Being smart (or not so smart) with my money.

Ever since I started my job and moved out on my own, I’ve kept track of all my purchases. I figured it was a good habit to get into. I organized it by month, which is easy to do if you keep up with it at least once a week. It gives me a chance to take a look at my spending habits and where I could probably cut back, like my impulse buy last month of a $100 hookah (my guilty pleasure). Speaking of hookah, I got a new shisha flavor: cantaloupe. It’s a very smooth flavor that gives me a nice buzz. Definitely recommend it.

Rise and shine!

I find that my bed time is much earlier, especially since I wake up at 5:30am. If I go to bed past 10:30pm, it’s a struggle to get through work the next day. I feel old… so sad. But thanks to my morning cup of coffee, I manage to get through it just fine.

Working woman.

I. Love. My. Job. It’s been my goal to pursue my passion in life, which is web design. I always knew I loved computers and I am creative. What better than to put the two together? I am so fortunate to have a job that I can say I love. It’s also a job that stays in the office when I leave, I never have to take my work home with me. Amen.

More later…

0 Responses to “Friday, September 26th, 2008”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Latest Tweets

Categories

September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 222,405 hits
Anthem Of Hope

