Election Day 2008


Today’s the big day. Who will win the Presidential election?

John McCain and Barack Obama

John McCain and Barack Obama

A Democratic President would be ideal for me.  It is my expectation that one would be able to help the country like Bill Clinton (D), who helped lead us out of our economic woes during the 90’s. Under Clinton’s leadership, the unemployment rate dropped about half, to 4%, all thanks to the 15 million new jobs that were created, which seems to be something we desperately need now.

In today’s day and age, the national unemployment rate is at about 6% (as of September). I truly believe that in conjunction with Congressional allies, Barack Obama has the ability to parallel the efforts of the Clinton administration.

I also feel that Barack Obama will do everything in his power to do what’s best for the greater good of the American people. I take that back. I believe he will work with everyone who has power to do what’s best for Americans. He is a team player. I don’t believe that McCain is. I think McCain is money-hungry, power-hungry, and questionable in terms of his ethics. I’m big into integrity, and he has a track record of inconsistent “truths.” Go on factchecker.org to see for yourself.

One last thing. It is crucial for a person in a position of power to be able to communicate effectively, which involves being able to relate with the audience. In my opinion, McCain doesn’t seem like the kind of guy someone could go up to and confide in (a gut reaction).

With this weighing heavy on my mind, I cast my vote today in Virginia for Barack Obama. However, what’s strange is that I consider myself a Republican…

Who did you vote for and why?

2 Responses to “Election Day 2008”


  1. 1 Emma November 4, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    I agree with you on democrats usually seeming to improve the economy, but I don’t see McCain as being money-hungry, and I think he has a longer track record of “reaching across party lines” or what have you. He seems a little silly to me sometimes – a little old maybe, or kind of like he has the wrong sense of humor at the wrong time – but he comes across to me as more sincere then Obama for some reason.

    And as sort-of Military workers, I’m surprised we’re not more concerned about Obama’s promise to cut DoD spending (I’m not that concerned either for some reason)! Issues issues how do we pick? 🙂

  2. 2 refineddesigner November 4, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Thanks for your response! It was interesting to hear your opinion. Good point about the DoD cut in funding; I had no idea!


Leave a Reply

Latest Tweets

Categories

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 222,601 hits
Anthem Of Hope

