Relationships: How do you show your love?


060214_animal_loveWith our one year anniversary coming up, I’ve been thinking a lot. For those who don’t know, Marcus and I have been dating since December 2007. I couldn’t ask for more in a sweet, devoted, and handsome gentleman. He makes me feel even more beautiful than I already feel. He listens to all the good and bad things that I tell him. He supports me in all of my activities; such as book club, volunteering, web design, scrapbooking, and my obsession with Jon & Kate + 8.

The two of us are very giving people, which can pose problems at time. We are so concentrated on making the other person feel “whole.” You could say “whole” represents who we are, what we like, and what we don’t like. It’s a sense of respect, I suppose. What I’m getting at is this morning I woke up feeling the urge to do something nice for Marcus. It got me thinking about ways I show my love. I also started wondering about how others show their love to the important people in their lives.

Sure, physical affection is a great way to show love, but it doesn’t quite capture the essence of love. Love to me is respect, appreciation, loyalty, attraction, and being open encapsulated in one. At the root of this is communication. Communication is so critical in our relationships. Not only do our love lives rely on open communication, but so do all other aspects of our lives.

But, back to what got me writing this post in the first place. The ways I show my love to Marcus:

  • Cooking romantic dinners at home
  • Picking up things at the grocery store that he would like
  • My gentle touch
  • Head, back, and foot massages
  • Listening
  • Kisses on his back during the middle off the night
  • Silence with eye contact
  • The sign-language “I love you”

  • Ensuring his comfort in my home
  • Supporting him in his career
  • Not undermining him in front of others
  • Being myself
  • Maturity during the occasional argument
  • Motivating each other at the gym
  • Talking about our future together
  • Getting giddy over puppies with him
  • Giving him space
  • Appreciating his family because they raised him

All these things define my love for Marcus. Before we went to bed last night, I expressed to him how it’s a scary thing for me — just knowing how madly in love we are. I’m only 22 and have the rest of my life, to which he apologetically replied, “I have to remind myself that you are in a younger state of mind” (he occasionally talks about how much he wants to marry me).

While I think about being engaged (entirely too much), I feel my body telling me, “take your time.” I just may be obsessed with the idea of being engaged. I fantasize about calling him my fiance, and rave about it to my coworkers. However, my gut tells me, enjoy it a day at a time. When the time is right, it will happen and I will gladly say yes. I admit I put way too much pressure on myself, and yes, him, too (poor guy). As he says, I get ahead of myself sometimes.

At the end of the day, Marcus is the one for me. I am the happiest I’ve ever been. Not because a man made me that way, but because as a couple, we bring out the best in each other. I want to get our first dog together (we’ve already named her Maddie, see how I get ahead of myself sometimes?), I want him to be the father of our children, I want to explore new sights with him, and I want to die knowing that I married my soulmate … my best friend.

Here’s to living one day at a time.

3 Responses to “Relationships: How do you show your love?”


  1. 1 Emma November 19, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Too, too sweet.

    Physical touch (not just the ‘sexy’ kind ;)) is by far my favorite way to give and receive love. So I try to make it a point to use the other ways of expressing love, too, just like you described here.

    😀

  2. 2 meghankathleen November 21, 2008 at 2:00 am

    Yes, this was definitely beautiful! I’m so glad you’re happy. It’s really refreshing to hear someone talk about love and affection in such a genuine way. 🙂

  3. 3 Cindy November 21, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Thanks ladies!


Leave a Reply

Latest Tweets

Categories

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 222,706 hits
Anthem Of Hope

