Marriage Proposal on Twitter


As I was sitting here drinking my homemade banana-orange smoothie, I received an email notification saying that I have a new Twitter follower named, @gwenbell following me, @kristinandrews. I got pretty excited and naturally wondered who this person could be. I’m going to take a break for a second and make sure we’re all on the same page…

For those of you who are unfamiliar with Twitter, it is an Internet website dedicated to social networking. The website allows you to write real-time messages to people in your network in 140 characters or less. It’s similar to Facebook’s status messages, which allows you to notify others of what you are doing at the moment. Now, you’re probably wondering why people like myself even bother to write these short and sweet messages. I primarily use it to follow other people in my profession. As a web designer, it is crucial for me to keep up with the standards and happenings of the industry. What better than to follow other designers, such as @justcreativedesign? There is also an abundance of websites with resources with tips, tricks, tools, and articles related to web design: @smashingmag. Here’s an example of my Twitter page:

twitter1

Note that my latest post is at the top and to the right you’ll see a short bio about myself, which tells others what kind of twitter updates they’ll most likely get about myself.

Now, back to my new follower, @gwenbell. After doing some simple research about her on her website, I found out that she is the one who was recently proposed to over Twitter. I had heard about a couple becoming engaged over Twitter and didn’t quite know what to make of it. At first I thought it was kind of geeky, but then I smiled, because it is such an original way to propose.

I’ll let her tell you the story of how they became engaged. Check out the proposal blog post on her website.

2 Responses to “Marriage Proposal on Twitter”


  1. 1 Marc December 14, 2008 at 4:04 am

    Hey Kristin,

    Dig it..

    I ran a quick tweetscan and it came back with pages of marriage proposal tweets just within the last 48hrs. Times are changing! You can see the live feed at http://www.marriagetweets.com

    šŸ™‚

  2. 2 Cindy December 15, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Thanks Marc!


Leave a Reply

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 222,706 hits
Anthem Of Hope

