Tropicana Orange Juice Has a New Design


UPDATE: It appears that Tropicana is reverting back to it’s original design.

carton_with_orange_tag

Looks like Tropicana® has followed in the footsteps of Pepsi® and is sporting a new look. They’ve redesigned the packaging of their orange juice cartons. I’m not a fan as I think there is too much white space. I do give them props for the orange cap, which my coworker pointed out to me. What do you think?

Check it out at Tropicana.com.

14 Responses to “Tropicana Orange Juice Has a New Design”


  1. 1 gilkesjm January 13, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    I think it looks refined. Nice balance of white space.

  2. 2 lackeyman January 13, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    pulp free??? come on…i love my extra pump OJ.

  3. 3 Refined Designer January 13, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    A coworker of mine said he wasn’t a fan of when companies like Tropicana and Pepsi redesign their packaging to look like this. I have to agree because changing the look like this can be tricky with brand loyalty (logo recognition).

  4. 4 Refined Designer January 13, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    Meee too. I love pulp. That’s probably why I’m not digging this look 🙂

  5. 5 tonya January 14, 2009 at 1:46 am

    The cap is genius and I like the clean look of the white. I can’t think of what their logo looked like before so I guess they won’t suffer a loss of brand recognition with me!

    And I am a low pulp, low acid kind of girl 😉

  6. 6 Kelly January 23, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    I hate the packaging. It looks like a first year design student project.

  7. 7 Bryan January 29, 2009 at 12:25 am

    I think it stinks. follow this link to read my review. http://www.loudamplifiermarketing.com/where-is-the-tropicana-orange-juice/

  8. 8 jayn January 31, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    It’s HORRIBLE! I stopped dead in my tracks when I saw it on the shelf in the supermarket. I can’t believe they approved this design. It’s UGLY.

  9. 9 wakka092 February 20, 2009 at 1:42 am

    The carton’s way too busy. The vertically oriented font is stupid; it’s against all of our natural instinct to hold a carton parallel to the floor.

    It’s generic, the font sucks, it’s orange juice for Christ’s sake! Keep it simple!

  10. 10 Refined Designer February 20, 2009 at 10:22 am

    Wakka092, you’re right, it is against our natural instinct to hold a carton sideways. I think it poses more work for the consumer first trying out Tropicana. Obviously, the loyal user-base doesn’t need to do so as they are already familiar with the brand, which brings up a whole ‘nother argument about brand loyalty and logo recognition.

    Thanks for the comment!

  11. 11 Reprodukt February 25, 2010 at 11:21 am

    “It looks like a first year design student project.”

    And often their ideas are much better than the ones of graphic designers that ask for millions of dollars for something worse. I like it.

  12. 12 Sasha October 18, 2010 at 6:48 am

    We did an eye tracking study on the effectiveness of the ‘New’ pack in the UK where we have never had the straw graphic and the results predict a 13% loss of sales. Tropicana shoppers don’t see new packages at shelf and are drawn to Tesco’s own brand products that have some similarities to the UK Tropicana pack. The truth about the sales loss has little to do with that graphic, and everything to do with shoppers ‘ability to find the new packages at shelf. Consumers have to find the product at shelf before they can buy it. One eye tracking study and this could have been avoided!

    http://thinkeyetracking.com/Blog/


  1. 1 Tropicana Orange Juice to Revert Back to Old Carton Design « Refined Designer // Casual, inspired, creative. Trackback on February 23, 2009 at 2:04 pm
  2. 2 Pepsi’s Not-so-new Logo « Refined Designer // Casual, inspired, creative. Trackback on March 8, 2009 at 8:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Latest Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Categories

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 222,706 hits
Anthem Of Hope

