Newly engaged & planning a fall wedding


orange-calla-lilies-from-the-knot-300x290

Welp, it’s true. I recently got engaged over Memorial Day weekend. Needless to say, I am SO thrilled and cannot wait to be married to the love of my life. Luckily he tells me the same… 🙂

Here’s a little food for thought. We’re both in agreement that we want a fall wedding, however here’s where we differ: I want a fall 2009 wedding, he wants a fall 2010 wedding. From my perspective, I think why not do it this fall instead of next fall, which feels like an enternity away? Sure, I know I should enjoy an engagement and take my time with the planning, because I know it sneaks up on brides-to-be. His perspective is he wants a little more time to enjoy the engagement, and start planning for the next phase of our lives as in financially supporting a family with children, a home, etc. While I absolutely respect this way of thinking (and love & appreciate it), we’re a team, so he’s not alone in anything and neither am I. Of course, being two independent people, that will be somewhat of a test as we progress toward marriage. With all this said, my instinct tells me I should honor my fiance’s wishes and wait to get married until next fall. Your thoughts?

3 Responses to “Newly engaged & planning a fall wedding”


  1. 1 Kimberly July 17, 2009 at 8:19 am

    Congratulations on your engagement! I, too, am planning a fall wedding. Fall 2010! We got engaged in Dec 08 but like your fiance’ I wanted extra time to enjoy being engaged and plan the wedding at a leisurly pace rather than rushing to get things done and book “in demand” vendors. However, these days I’m feeling like my wedding will never get here! Good luck with your planning and enjoy every second! I am loving your blog so far, this is my first visit but sure won’t be my last!

  2. 2 Refined Designer July 17, 2009 at 8:22 am

    @Kimberly Thanks for visiting! How has wedding planning been going for you? Do you have a blog that I can follow along at? What colors and styles do you like so far that you came across in your wedding search? Congrats to you, too!

  3. 3 Kimberly July 21, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Hi Kristen, Thank you. Wedding planning is going great for me so far. I’m going for a fairly simple fall elegance…if that makes sense. Chocolate brown and copper with a touch of caramel color. Unfortunately I don’t have a blog to follow (yet) but if and when I get one up I will be sure and let you know. Until then, I’ll be checking yours regularly 🙂


Leave a Reply

Latest Tweets

Categories

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Blog Stats

  • 222,293 hits
Anthem Of Hope

